Graphene Network

+49 3375 508 429   friedhelm.heinrich@th-wildau.de
Network Graphene
Network Graphene
Title
Go to content
Flexible and cost-effective packaging method for Chip-on-Board Leds with adjustable beam angle (Fleko)
In chip-on-board (CoB) technology, the LED chips are placed directly on the PCB and contacted by bonding wires. The process offers a high degree of flexibility, best positioning accuracy and enormous potential for miniaturization, thermal management and integration. In addition to the LED chips, additional drivers and / or evaluation electronics can be integrated on the module. The chips are also usually protected by an optical encapsulation or a glass cover. For many applications, however, a limitation of the emission angle of the LED is necessary, which is realized with an optical lens. To date, three main methods have been established for the manufacture or attachment of such a lens:

1. Enclosing the lenses in a metal housing (TO housing) and subsequent sticking on the board. This has the disadvantage that the adhesive bond dissolves at high temperatures (> 120 ° C). In addition, the technology is expensive and inflexible.

2. Placement of the lenses directly on the chip. For this purpose, epoxy resins are usually used, which are molded on the chip. These resins have the disadvantage that they are not temperature resistant (<85 ° C) and can tear off the bonding wire due to their thermal expansion coefficient during heating or cooling from the chip. Another disadvantage is the moldability of the resins. Currently it is not possible to produce lenses with small radiation angles (<45 °). For this, a TO housing would have to be used.

3. The Total Internal Reflection (TIR) ​​Lens: This is an effective way to reduce the beam angle. However, it is very expensive and requires complex components, which in turn makes them very expensive and useless for small batch production. In addition, TIR lenses are comparatively large and unsuitable for the desired market of sensor technology and medical technology, where the installation space is usually very limited.

Because of this situation, a new low-cost and easy-to-use packaging method for lens shaping and assembly for high density LEDs is desirable. In the project a technologically new approach is to be pursued, the application by means of a dropping method, whereby the viscosity of the materials but also the surface energy of the substrate play an important role. The drop method has the advantage that the production is considerably simplified and cheaper because expensive stamps are superfluous. With the PTFE coating of the housing surface, very good results for reducing the emission angle have been achieved so far. Due to the very low surface tension of the PTFE, the polymer lenses form very large contact angles and thus small radiation angles. The coating of the housing with graphene oxide is also investigated.

COB-LED with radiation characteristics
left: COB-LED with untreated housing surface, right: housing surface treated with PTFE solution, middle: the corresponding radiation characteristics


cooperation partners:
    AG Photonik, Laser- und Plasmatechnologien EPIGAP Optronic GmbH resintec

Back to content

Netzwerk Graphen

+49 3375 508 429   friedhelm.heinrich@th-wildau.de
Title
Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
Flexible und kostengünstige Packaging-Methode für Chip-on-Board LEDs mit einstellbarem Abstrahlwinkel (Fleko)
Bei der Chip-on-Board (CoB)-Technologie werden die LED Chips direkt auf die Leiterplatte gesetzt und mittels Bonddrähten kontaktiert. Das Verfahren bietet ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität, beste Positioniergenauigkeit sowie enormes Potential für Miniaturisierung, Thermomanagement und Integration. Neben den LED Chips können zusätzlich Treiber und / oder Auswerteelektronik auf dem Modul integriert werden. Die Chips werden zudem meist durch einen optischen Verguss oder eine Glasabdeckung geschützt. Für viele Anwendungen ist jedoch eine Einschränkung des Abstrahlwinkels der LED notwendig, was mit einer optischen Linse realisiert wird.
Bis heute haben sich drei wesentliche Verfahren zur Herstellung bzw. Befestigung einer solchen Linse etabliert:

1. Einfassung der Linsen in einem Metallgehäuse (TO-Gehäuse) und nachträgliches Aufkleben auf dem Board. Dies hat den Nachteil, dass sich die Klebeverbindung bei hohen Temperaturen (>120°C) auflöst. Zudem ist die Technik teuer und unflexibel.

2. Platzierung der Linsen direkt auf den Chip. Hierzu werden üblicherweise Epoxidharze verwendet, die auf den Chip abgeformt werden. Diese Harze haben den Nachteil, dass sie nicht temperaturbeständig (<85°C) sind und aufgrund ihres Temperaturausdehnungskoeffizienten den Bonddraht beim Erwärmen bzw. Abkühlen vom Chip abreißen können. Ein weiterer Nachteil liegt in der Formbarkeit der Harze. Derzeit ist es nicht möglich, Linsen mit kleinen Abstrahlwinkeln (< 45°) herzustellen. Dafür müsste auf ein TO-Gehäuse zurückgegriffen werden.

3. Die Total-Internal-Reflection (TIR) Linse: Dies ist eine effektive Methode den Abstrahlwinkel zu verkleinern. Sie ist jedoch sehr aufwendig und bedarf komplexer Bauelemente, was sie wiederum sehr teuer und für eine Kleinserienfertigung unbrauchbar macht.  Zudem sind TIR Linsen vergleichsweise groß und für den angestrebten Markt der Sensorik und Medizintechnik, wo der Bauraum meist sehr begrenzt ist nicht geeignet.

Aufgrund dieser Situation ist eine neue, kostengünstige und einfach zu handhabende Packaging-Methode zur Linsenformung und –befestigung für LEDs mit hoher Packungsdichte wünschenswert. Im Projekt soll ein technologisch neuer Ansatz, die Applizierung mittels einer Tropfenmethode, verfolgt werden, wobei die Viskosität der Materialien aber auch die Oberflächenenergie des Substrats eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Die Tropfenmethode hat den Vorteil, dass die Herstellung wesentlich vereinfacht und günstiger wird, da aufwändige Stempel überflüssig sind. Sehr gute Ergebnisse zur Verkleinerung der Abstrahlwinkel konnten bisher mit der PTFE-Beschichtung der Gehäuseoberfläche erzielt werden. Aufgrund der sehr kleinen Oberflächenspannung des PTFEs, bilden die Polymerlinsen sehr große Randwinkel und somit kleine Abstrahlwinkel. Die Beschichtung des Gehäuses mit Graphenoxid wird ebenfalls untersucht.  

COB-LEDs mit Abstrahlcharakteristik
links: COB-LED mit unbehandelter Gehäuseoberfläche, rechts: mit PTFE-Lösung behandelter Gehäuseoberfläche, mitte: die dazugehörigen Abstrahlcharakteristiken


Kooperationspartner:
    AG Photonik, Laser- und Plasmatechnologien   EPIGAP Optronic GmbH  resintec
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt